What are the five virtues, the five disciplines and the

five elements?  Are they all of the same Truth?


Confucianism names benevolence, justice, propriety, wisdom

and faith as the five virtues.  Buddhism names not to kill,

not to steal, not to be lustful, not to tell lies and not to drink

as the five disciplines.  Taoism names wood, metal, water,

fire and earth as the five fundamental elements.  The terminologies

are different, but the Truth is the same. Why? If one kills, he

lacks benevolence or wood. If one steals, he lacks justice or

metal. If one is lustful, he lacks propriety or fire. If one drinks,

he lacks wisdom or water. If one tells lies, he lacks faith or earth. 

That is why Confucianism teaches people to practise the five

virtues to achieve loyalty and magnanimity; Buddhism follows

the five disciplines to achieve mercifulness; and Taoism practices

the five elements to attain supernatural inspiration. Therefore they

all are of the same Truth.