The Gong-Fu of cultivating oneself


Once where to rest is known, the direction of practicing

Tao is set.  (In Buddhism, this is called Zen meditation. 

When one has no fancy, it is called Zen.  Seeing one’s

True Self in tranquility is called meditation).  One cannot

know where to rest without receiving Tien-Tao transmitted

by the Enlightened Teacher with Tien-Ming1.  Being set

means one will not stray away from the True Self, which

is equal for a Saint or a commoner.


After being set, the next four stages are – can be tranquil,

can reveal his True Nature, can be pure and can attain Tao. 

The word “is” in “is set” refers to the True Self which has

always been there, and cannot be enhanced or degraded,

contaminated or purified.  The word “can” implies effort. 

Effort can be great or minute, or tenacious or sporadic. 

Regardless of one’s effort, the True Self remains the same. 

However, the attainment of each of these four stages

depends on one’s effort, resulting in different achievements. 

This is why there are three Vehicles of Dharma and nine

levels of peerage.